2015 – Most Anticipated Books

Hello gentle reader,

Happy New Year!

In 2014 I read 41 novels, 16 novellas, 3 non-fiction books, 5 WIPs and I re-read 4 books. I’m very pleased with all the books I read last year, and I’m already looking forward to all the books I’m going to read this year!

In my Waiting On Wednesday posts, I already mentioned YA books I’m eagerly anticipating: THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT by Melissa Grey, HALF WILD by Sally Green, THE SHADOW CABINET (Shades of London #3) by Maureen Johnson, THE WICKED WILL RISE (Dorothy Must Die #2) by Danielle Paige, A WICKED THING by Rhiannon Thomas, AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabaa Tahir, UNDER A PAINTED SKY by Stacey Lee, A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC by Victoria E. Schwab, and LAIR OF DREAMS (The Diviners #2) by Libba Bray.

Today I’d like to add four books to this list:

Magonia

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley (Expected publication: 28th April 2015 by HarperCollins)

Neil Gaiman’s Stardust meets John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars in this fantasy about a girl caught between two worlds…two races…and two destinies.

Aza Ray is drowning in thin air.

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live.

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world—and found, by another. Magonia.

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power—and as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war is coming. Magonia and Earth are on the cusp of a reckoning. And in Aza’s hands lies the fate of the whole of humanity—including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?

The Game of Love and Death

 

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough (Expected publication: 28th April 2015 by Arthur A. Levine Books)

Antony and Cleopatra. Helen of Troy and Paris. Romeo and Juliet. And now . . . Henry and Flora.

For centuries Love and Death have chosen their players. They have set the rules, rolled the dice, and kept close, ready to influence, angling for supremacy. And Death has always won. Always.

Could there ever be one time, one place, one pair whose love would truly tip the balance?

Meet Flora Saudade, an African-American girl who dreams of becoming the next Amelia Earhart by day and sings in the smoky jazz clubs of Seattle by night. Meet Henry Bishop, born a few blocks and a million worlds away, a white boy with his future assured — a wealthy adoptive family in the midst of the Great Depression, a college scholarship, and all the opportunities in the world seemingly available to him.

The players have been chosen. The dice have been rolled. But when human beings make moves of their own, what happens next is anyone’s guess.

Achingly romantic and brilliantly imagined, The Game of Love and Death is a love story you will never forget.

A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (Expected publication: 5th May 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s)

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

The Wrath and The Dawn

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh (Expected publication: 12th May 2015 by Putnam Juvenile)

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

So tell me, which books are you most looking forward to reading in 2015? Feel free to leave me a comment below!

2 thoughts on “2015 – Most Anticipated Books

  1. I am SO excited for all of these books, too! 2015 is a phenomenal year for YA fantasy. It makes me beyond happy.

  2. I’m also looking forward to The Wrath And The Dawn. An Arabian Nights retelling – sounds epic!

    I’m also looking forward to these in 2015 (I’m probably forgetting a few *lol*):

    Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder
    Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran
    Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman
    The Violinist Of Venice by Alyssa Palombo
    An Ember In The Ashes by Tabaa Sahir

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s